Skip to content

Grading week playlist – days 3&4

January 24, 2015

I’m not sure what it is about hip-hop but it has dominated my grading soundtrack this year. For the most part it isn’t about the lyrics – it’s the beats. A stone groove keeps things moving. When one of my kids does his homework in the room with me, looking up at one point and telling me “this is inappropriate” I know I’ve gotten lost in it, in all the best ways. I might add that I’m a fan of a particular strain of hip-hop – rarely is it straight-up gang rap – more under the categories I’ve seen referring to “alternative rap,” “underground rap,” or “turtablism.” (Click for links to AllMusic.com definitions and examples)

I shot out a link to this video on my Twitter but I’ll repost it here – it is an amazing compilation of film clips and images, going the full length of J Dilla’s “Donuts,” one of my favorite albums.

The playlist:

  • J Dilla – Donuts
  • El-P – Fantastic Damage
  • Madvillain – Madvillainy
  • Diggs Duke – The Upper Hand and other Grand Illusions
  • Freddie Gibbs and Madlib – Piñata
  • Young Fathers – Tape Two
  • Black Star (Mos Def & Talib Kweli) – Black Star
  • John Legend & The Roots – Wake Up!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

