Skip to content

Funk and World tunes for Buffy and a winter day

February 5, 2013

So one of my favorite things to do is connect great people with great tunes – it’s that side of me that will forever be the record store clerk spinning tunes (see clip from High Fidelity below)

So when my friend Buffy asked for suggestions of funk and world music tunes for her listening pleasure, I suggested to her these recent favorites from the pile on my passenger seat:

  • Konkoma – Kplango – I just love this record – a contemporary Afro-beat combo hitting all of the 70’s sweet spots
  • Black Truth Rhythm Band – Umbala – Funky jazz and soul from Trinidad – what more do you need to know?
  • Ondatropica – Bomba Tropica – Classic Latin jazz sounds with a great groove and a bit of a modern twist (but not too much!)
  • Monomono – Make Them Realize – Warm guitar and bass groove through sweet percussion lines – and tasty keyboards too in this Afro-rock gem
  • Lee Fields & The Expressions – You’re the Kind of Girl – A big shift from the above tunes, now going into the realm of classic soul sounds that always wins
  • Charles Bradley – Strictly Reserved For You – A natural progression from above – can you beat his record on Daptone from last year?  No.
  • Aloe Blacc – I Need A Dollar – Another favorite one from last year and a killer set at Lollapalooza – channeling Curtis Mayfield and making it his own
  • Toro Y Moi – Say That – Clubby groove with a great vocal – and it’s great in headphones too
  • Nosaj Thing – Eclipse / Blue – I don’t know much about this act, but the cinematic space and breathy vocal are a great mix
  • Ex-Cops – James – I’ll end here with a track from this infectious record – sing-along lyrics over sunny pop loveliness

OK, so I wandered away from the funk / world specification – I couldn’t help myself!

Let me know what you think – Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brian permalink
    February 5, 2013 12:34 pm

    I’m not bragging or anything, but I believe I pointed you towards Ex Cops. It may be the first time I named something you hadn’t heard in the 9 years we’ve worked together, so I’m a little proud of this moment!

Leave a Reply

