Skip to content

Living in a Democracy – Our Duty to Others

November 6, 2012

My return to the blogosphere (personal one, that is – my class ones and music reviews continue elsewhere) on this election day is not about that powerful exercise of living in a democracy.  However things turn out I’ll miss my daily visits to political blogs and Nate Silver.  

More importantly I am moved (to tears?) by the devastation Hurricane Sandy wreaked on my home state of New Jersey and my beloved New York.  I’ve been working with my youth group to raise whatever money we can to contribute to the relief efforts.  So far we’ve been able to team up with Rabbis I know in the area (including my brother Peter at Temple Sholom in Broomall, PA) to have the impact of our work be as direct as possible.  He personally delivered a van of supplies to Staten Island and Coney Island!

So for right now I just want to post a few links to sites I’m visiting as I’m trying to coordinate more fundraising from out here in the midwest.

http://www.njfoodbank.org

http://www.restoreourshore.com

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

