Skip to content

Vinyl Summer

July 10, 2011

No I’m not referring to the feeling of sliding across the back seat of my parents’ chevy impala when they picked me up from the pool on hot summer days, although slurpees and regular doritos will always take me back to those magical times.  Instead I’m referring to those “big cd’s” as my kids  asked about when they first saw me dragging boxes of lp’s down from closets to spin this summer.  Now, my oldest son knows how to clean and handle a record and loves spending time looking at the pictures and reading the lyrics.   He plays copies of old Beatles, Grateful Dead, and Rolling Stones lp’s and even likes how you have to get up every 20 minutes or so to “play the other side,” a concept previously unknown to him.  I’ve gone back to vinyl in many ways, spinning everything from old jazz records (tonight includes Dexter Gordon’s “Biting the Apple”    and Jimmy Smith’s “Jimmy Smith at the Organ”   on Blue Note) to newly purchased re-releases (such as the first Grateful Dead record in glorious mono and 3 different Funkadelic titles to finally getting to things I purchased on vinyl but have remained sealed, such as the fantastic “Light on the South Side” compilation   and accompanying photo book put out by the masterminds at Numero Group.  Check out the trailer here:

Might I add I’m pretty gaga over the abundance of great new music out right now.  Current playlist includes: White Denim, Yuck, Thee Oh Sees, The Night Beats, Bon Iver, Shabazz Palaces, Ema, tUnE yArDs, Fleet Foxes, Marissa Nadler, Wild Beasts, Wax Museums, and Cosmonauts.

And just to further the glory of physical product, I need to give a shout-out to squeezebox, a lovely little used book-cd-record-dvd store that just opened in Evanston.  Where else would I have found a copy of the double-lp of the Ann Arbor Blues & Jazz Festival from 1972, featuring tracks from Bonnia Raitt, Bobby ‘Blue” Bland, Howlin’ Wolf, and Sun Ra?  Thanks, Tim!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 2:12 am

    Hey Neil –

    Just stumbled across your blog – I never knew it existed until I saw on LinkedIn that you made this post.

    Thanks by the way for getting us all usher jobs when you were booking major acts in college. I still remember making a fool of myself with Michael Stipe who was wearing a T-Shirt that said “Radical Earth Shrooms.” I had the discretion of a 14-year old girl, and couldn’t restrain myself from asking if that’s what REM meant. Stipe’s silent glare was awkward! You were there – do you remember?

    I went back to campus a couple years ago, and Cameron’s only used for basketball these days. I don’t know where they hold concerts. Oh, and Poindexter Records is gone.

    But not forgotten.

    Parker

Leave a Reply

