Skip to content

90 days – 90 cds, 90 books – The 2010 summer challenge

May 24, 2010

OK, so I haven’t written on the blog in a while, so ir order to try to prod myself towards more frequent content, and to force myself to listen to a little something different and read a little bit more each day, I’m taking on this challenge.  I’m going to comment on a different cd and book each day.  All cds are either recent purchases or acquisitions (as in traded – I still don’t steal music); all books are ones I’ve read recently, am actively reading, or am looking forward to reading.  Sure it’s ambitious and ridiculous and self-indulgent.  I have no problem with that.  So let’s get started.

CD#1 – The Soft Pack  Sure it’s a punk rock record with sing-along choruses and a fresh take on a classic sound – and that’s what makes it a winning combination.  It’s a cd that was a winner from the first spin, not by re-inventing the vinyl wheel but by doing all of the little things right.  The punchy, riffy goodness just grabs me and hey, even Asher liked it and wanted to hear the first tune, “C’mon,” three times in a row.  Here’s the video:

THE SOFT PACK “C’mon” MUSIC VIDEO from VIDEOTHING.COM on Vimeo.

Book #1: Tom Rachman’s The Imperfectionists

The book was on the front of the NYTimes book review which was the first I’d heard of it.  A bit more reading revealed a bidding war and big build up, so I bought (is there a B in the puzzle?).  This is officially the first novel I’ll be reading to kick off the summer and since I just started today I don’t have much to say other than I’m already loving how each chapter stands on its own as a short story.  Rachman’s characters quickly take on a third dimension and the narrative pulls along with a great insider feel to the newspaper publishing business.  I love the awareness of journalistic cliche and how it is a dividing line between hacks and true writers.  Here’s a link to the website

That’s it for right now – I’m going to be trying to figure out how to write these posts remotely and update them to my facebook and all of that oh-so-hip-tech-wizardry.  Get clickin’!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

