Skip to content

Ill Communication

October 13, 2009

I blog, I tweet, I e-mail, I text, I update my facebook via my iPhone, I post replies on blogs and message boards, I StumbleUpon and Digg and del.icio.us, I’m LinkedIn and Plaxod, I have more usernames and passwords than I can ever begin to remember, even if they are all just simple variations – so why is it I can never feel like I’m caught up?  E-mails routinely take days to respond to, especially if they are personal, and especially since I have multiple e-mail addresses for different purposes – to access Google applications, Yahoo groups, school, personal stuff….  So imagine how relieved I was to come across this article from the Wall Street Journal, via Huffington Post about the end of e-mail.  And here’s a quick interview on MSNBC about it.  It does drive me crazy and always makes me wonder how I did survive without all of these beautiful tools for so many years.  I remember looking on the wipe-off message board on my dorm room door to see who stopped by to visit.  We used to share one telephone and one computer in our department office and would leave a slip of paper on the desk of the person who received a message.  And now, with this flood of information, am I more efficient?  In some ways yes, but in so many ways I feel like I’m running to stand still (thanks, Bono) and chasing my non-existent tail.  Even now, in the midst of this blogging experiment, to which I was so dedicated this summer, I find it impossible to take the time to find a minute to gather my thoughts.  Thank goodness I just found an app for that.  I just need to text my friends to check my facebook status to link to this blog post since nobody reads their e-mail anymore.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cherner permalink
    October 13, 2009 3:47 pm

    can you also make this post readable via kindle?

  2. October 17, 2009 2:32 am

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  3. December 14, 2009 10:45 pm

    MY dorm room message board always said “Wake Freedom”…. cool blog Moo-Goo; sorry for not seeing it sooner. VERY jealous of your NYC trip – Balthazar and Kandinsky — Lauren was just up there a few weeks ago, too. BTW, you can check out her painting website: laurenossolinski.com. Werd.

Leave a Reply

