Skip to content

Anxiety, Coffee, and a few good books

April 8, 2009

Yesterday morning we had coffee at Metropolis – the cafe of cafes with the best coffee in town.  All tables (30? 40?) were filled and the buzz of conversation and blogging filled the place.  Oh to live just a little bit closer to it.  I knew I was in the right place when I saw someone reading Walter Benjamin at the first table I passed (see previous entry).  From there it was off to the Art Institute for the Edvard Munch exhibit – his brilliant paintings portray anxiety and depression with power and insight – a combination of his mental challenges and artistic talents – I never before realized the extent to which he absorbed and re-shaped so many of the trends in art at the end of the 19th century and start of the 20th.  For lunch we went to the Eleven City Diner, since I saw it on “Check, Please!” the night before.  I was excited to see a signed napkin from Alpana Singh in the men’s room with a hand-written version of the great comment she made about Matzo Balls – “I’m married to  a Jewish man and not all balls are the same” – we’ll see what version appears at the seder tonight.  We finished the day with a stop at 57th st. Books and a quick look around the U of C.  Now I just need to move that book store near the Metropolis and pull both into Evanston to make my life complete – or at least give me great places to while away the few spare minutes I have each week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

